CS371p Fall 2020: Audie Bethea

Audie Bethea
Nov 8, 2020

--

What did you do last week?

Last week, my partner and I finished Darwin. We didn’t encounter too many obstacles, as Downing’s lectures prepared us well in implementing a good Object Oriented Design. We had no timeout errors on the Hackerranks.

What’s in your way?

Nothing, at the moment.

What will you do next week?

Take a look at the next project with my partner, and work on another project for my compiler’s class.

If you read it, what did you think of The Dependency Inversion Principle?

I thought that it was a pretty helpful piece, as I saw many of the ideas discussed in the paper come to light during the Darwin project, such as rigidity and high-level modules depending on low-level modules unnecessarily.

What was your experience of continuing to implement std::vector, move semantics, and allocators again?

I thought vector was the most interesting part of this discussion, in particular how C++ tailors certain vector constructors and methods to conserve as much memory as possible.

What made you happy this week?

I won my IM tennis league! However, I also got a parking ticket. I guess things even out, more or less.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My tip-of-the-week is VS Live Share, a VS Code extension that allows groups to view and edit the same instance of a file across multiple machines, like Google Docs. It was a very helpful tool for me and my partner last week.

--

--