CS371p Fall 2020 Week 3: Audie Bethea

Audie Bethea
2 min readSep 12, 2020

--

What did you do this past week?

I spent some time this week setting everything up for Collatz, as well as making a lot of optimizations. I had a lot of work to do in my other classes, as well as my job, but I’m hoping that I’m nearing the end of that so I can focus more on this class.

What’s in your way?

I wouldn’t really say anything is in my way at this point. The last optimization that I have to do makes sense conceptually to me, so I’ll probably just have to work it out for a few hours one night.

What will you do next week?

Next week I’ll attend lectures and start on the new project. I have a few people in mind that I want to work with for the project.

What was your experience of Collatz, the starter code, the makefile, its optimizations, and exceptions?

I think it was pretty well organized. Having the workflow definitely streamlined the process of getting started. I haven’t really had too many significant issues with the code, but getting used to using so many new tools (docker, gitlab, gtest) was a bit overwhelming at first.

What made you happy this week?

This week I signed up for some intramural sports. I think throughout high school, being active was a constant staple in my life, but since college has began I’ve had to trade my physical health for my grades. However, Covid has given me a lot of downtime, so I took it as an opportunity to get outside again.

What’s your tip-of-the-week?

My tip of the week is to make an effort to balance your life by taking some time to recharge. This week, I did a lot of work- I was sitting at my computer desk 8–10 hours a day, and it just made me feel really gross and restless. Thursday I decided to take some time off and go play a round of disc golf by myself, and it really helped me recenter and prepare to do more work.

--

--