CS371p Fall 2020 Week 5: Audie Bethea

Audie Bethea
2 min readSep 27, 2020

--

What did you do this past week?

This week I met with my partner for Voting, and got through the I/O and first Hackerrank test case. We also established a schedule for pair programming. Also, I did a lot of recruiting.

What’s in your way?

Nothing is in my way at the moment in this class, but I’m pretty busy in other classes.

What will you do next week?

Next week I will focus on optimizing my Voting code so I can pass Hackerrank tests 2 and 3.

What was your experience of values, addresses, references, and consts?

I was pretty familiar with most of these ideas from my Operating Systems class that I took my sophomore year, but I didn’t know consts existed in c++, and I definitely didn’t know about their performance implications.

What made you happy this week?

This week I felt like I had a lot of success at career fair. The last two years, I’ve struggled at career fair due to lack of work experience and complex technical skills, but after my internship last summer, I find it a lot easier to communicate with recruiters.

What’s your tip-of-the-week?

This week, while working on some mobile app development for the company I’m working for, I started using React Native with Expo. The Expo CLI is a tool used to build and test Android, iOS, and Web Apps from the same codebase with minimal adaptations. When I did mobile development before, I always set up dedicated Android and iOS environments using Android Studio and Pods, but Expo was a super simple and easy cross-platform way to get started on apps.

--

--